Tana French Thrills

Fans of Mystic River and The Lovely Bones have a new star in the thrillers of Tana French. Her first novel, In the Woods takes place in 1984 when mothers in a Dublin suburb call their children home for the evening. Three do not return from the dark and silent woods. Police search and find only one child gripping a tree in fright, wearing bloody sneakers and unable to remember anything from the preceding hours.

Now, its 20 years later and the found boy, Rob Ryan, is a Dublin Murder Squad detective. In the same woods, he and Detective Cassie Maddox find a 12 year old girl murdered and find themselves investigating a case alarmingly similar to the previous unsolved mystery. Check the catalog for availability.

woods.gif french.gif

In her second novel, The Likeness, it's six years later and Detective Cassie Maddox is transferred out of the murder squad and starts a relationship with Detective Sam O’Neill, but she’s too badly shaken from the events of In the Woods to make a commitment to him or to her career. Then Sam calls her to the scene of his new case: a young woman found stabbed to death in a small town outside Dublin. The dead girl’s ID says her name is Lexie Madison—the identity Cassie used years ago as an undercover detective—and she looks exactly like Cassie. Should Cassie go undercover to find information and tempt the killer out of hiding? What kind of secrets will be uncovered? Check the catalog for availability.

Pages

Archives

Links

Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jacki published on August 4, 2008 1:06 PM.

Ghost Mountain Boys - 2007 RR Donnelley Literary Award Winner was the previous entry in this blog.

Photographer: Stephen Shore is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.