« Frankenstein: A Cultural History by Susan Tyler Hitchcock | Main | The deadliest hurricane in history »

Best of September

Hurry.jpgDahl.jpgDragon.jpg
Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg
This memoir begins with a bang: "On July 5, 1996, my daughter was struck mad." It chronicles the summer when 15-year-old Sally experienced her first full-blown manic episode--an event that in a "single stroke" changed her identity and, by extension, that of her entire family. Check the catalog for availability.

The Irregulars: Roald Dahl and the British Spy Ring in Wartime Washington by Jennet Conant
After blinding headaches cut short his distinguished career as a Royal Air Force fighter pilot, Dahl became part of an elite group of British spies working against the United States' neutrality at the onset of World War II. Check the catalog for availability.

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
The debut thriller is a total page-turner and the first in a trilogy. Readers who enjoy Charlie Huston and Michael Connelly will want to pick this up. Check the catalog for availability.

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on September 11, 2008 9:45 AM.

The previous post in this blog was Frankenstein: A Cultural History by Susan Tyler Hitchcock.

The next post in this blog is The deadliest hurricane in history .

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.