The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Hunger Games.jpg

The Hunger Games is set in Panem, a future North America. This nation is ruled by The Capitol (which seems to be in the Denver area) and surrounded by 12 districts. An annual competition called The Hunger Games is held, in which one girl and one boy from each District competes in a fight to the death, which is televised night and day during the competition. When 16 year old Katniss Everdeen's little sister is chosen for the games she steps forward to take her place; Katniss does this knowing that she is probably going to die.

When another librarian described this as a cross between The Running Man and The Lord of Flies I finally checked it out. I wish I wouldn't have waited so long...I couldn't put it down. If you want to continue the story, it is a trilogy; the second book is Catching Fire and Mockingjay, book three, comes out August 24th.

Submitted by Jacki @ MPL Central




Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jacki published on May 13, 2010 9:03 AM.

James Beard Awards--Try Before You Buy! was the previous entry in this blog.

Under the Dome by Stephen King is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.