Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, 2011 Printz Award Winner

printz_seal_win.jpg Ship breaker.jpg

The Michael L. Printz Award is given by the American Library Association's Young Adult Library Services Association to honor the year's best book for young adults. The book may be non-fiction or fiction, from any genre. The Printz Award has been given every year since 2000, and is named in honor of Mike Printz, a high school librarian and active member of YALSA who passed away in 1996.

The 2011 Printz Award was given to Paolo Bacigalupi's Ship Breaker, a science fiction novel set in a grim and grimy future. Nailer and his crew live on the Gulf Coast, doing the dangerous work of scavenging recyclable parts from beached oil tankers, dreaming of striking it rich by finding a hidden pocket of scarce, expensive oil. Everything changes for Nailer when a storm brings in a new ship to scavenge--a wind-powered clipper from the prosperous north. The adventure that follows forces Nailer to reconsider everything he thinks he knows about loyalty, friendship, family, and the world beyond his beach.

Submitted by Mary Lou @ Washington Park

Bookmark and Share




Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jacki published on January 13, 2011 9:01 AM.

Did You Resolve to Save Money This Year? was the previous entry in this blog.

It Feels So Good When I Stop by Joe Pernice is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.