The Aurora Teagarden Series

poppy.jpg CharlaineHarris-230x300.jpg

I admit, I tried getting into the Sookie Stackhouse mysteries by Charlaine Harris and could not. But, then my sister told me about another series Harris wrote called the Aurora Teagarden mysteries and I have been hooked every since!

Written before she started the popular Sookie Stackhouse stories and without the fantastical elements, this series centers on Aurora Teagarden, a librarian living outside of Atlanta who also happens to be an amateur crime buff. The first novel, Real Murders, centers on a group of amateur crime buffs she belongs to and a murder they witness. As the series goes on the bodies pile up.

One thing that I find refreshing about the series is that it makes no qualms that the characters are peculiar and recognizes that being a true crime aficionado is a strange pastime. There is even one character, a police officer, who finds it very odd that Aurora is somehow always involved with any murder that happens in their small town.

Along with the mystery, throw in a meddling mother, small town southern living, irksome library staff and plenty of love interests for Aurora and the series is a quick read and quite enjoyable. They do not need to be read in order, though they do follow a chronology. The books also do a nice job of fleshing out the characters and offer a light read without a lot of sex, violence and strong language. Real Murders is followed by A Bone to Pick, Three Bedrooms, One Corpse, The Julius House, Dead Over Heels, A Fool and His Honey, Last Scene Alive and Poppy Done to Death.

Submitted by Meredith, Wisconsin Talking Book Library

Bookmark and Share




Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jacki published on June 23, 2011 8:50 AM.

Wicked Bugs by Amy Stewart was the previous entry in this blog.

King Solomon's Mines by H. Rider Haggard is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.