The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong


The Summoning, which begins The Darkest Powers Trilogy, is about 15 year old Chloe Saunders, a necromancer, brothers Simon, a warlock, and Derek a werewolf (though not the traditional kind), Tori, a witch, and the recently deceased telekinetic Liz. They all attend the Lyle House, an elite academy of sorts for students with special needs also known as supernatural powers. Some of the students know they have supernatural powers, some know how to use them, some, like Chloe, are just coming to discover they even have powers. Soon after the story begins the students realize the Lyle House operates as a kind of medical facility used to experiment and magnify the powers of the students and eventually sell them to the highest bidder. The remainder of the story consists of the teenagers frantically running for their lives not knowing who to trust or fear. I enjoyed the various and curious supernatural powers the characters had in this trilogy, it was an interesting mix along with the different personalities. Although the romantic triangle could be better constructed, the action is most definitely the focus which kept me speeding from one book to the next. I didn't want the story to end, but The Darkest Powers Trilogy continues with The Awakening and The Reckoning. And then, readers can continue the story with The Darkest Rising Trilogy which started this spring with The Gathering. Watch for The Calling in the spring of 2012. Visit Kelley Armstrong's website here.

Submitted by Valerie @ MPL Central

Bookmark and Share




Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by published on June 4, 2011 9:11 AM.

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna was the previous entry in this blog.

Generation X by Douglas Coupland is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.