« Scorecasting by Tobias J. Moskowitz | Main | The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong »

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna

memory.jpg

The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna alternately tells the stories of three men. British psychiatrist Adrian Lockhart has fled a failing marriage to work in Sierra Leone. In his quest to treat the many uncared for victims of civil war he meets Elias Cole. Cole is an elderly former professor who has two stories to relate. First, he shares much about his country's history, and second, he tells of his infatuation with another colleagues' wife. At the same time Adrian befriends Kai, a young surgeon who is thinking about leaving the country. Kai isn't sure it's a good idea for Adrian to pursue the history of one of their patients, Agnes, and conflict between the two builds.

Forna grew up in Sierra Leone where her father worked as a physician, which brings a remarkable authenticity to her writing. She deftly handles the complications of war and the memories it leaves behind. This novel, as well as her past works, Ancestor Stones and The Devil That Danced on the Water, are suggested for readers who enjoy Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Uwem Akpan.

Submitted by Jacki @ MPL Central


Bookmark and Share


About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on June 3, 2011 9:43 AM.

The previous post in this blog was Scorecasting by Tobias J. Moskowitz .

The next post in this blog is The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong .

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.