Newbery, Caldecott & Printz Award Winners


Winners of the American Library Association's top awards for children's and YA books, videos and audios, were announced yesterday.

Kate DiCamillo wins the Newbery Medal for Flora & Ulysses, her second Newbery win. Rescuing a squirrel after an accident involving a vacuum cleaner, comic-reading cynic Flora Belle Buckman is astonished when the squirrel, Ulysses, demonstrates astonishing powers of strength and flight after being revived.

She earned her first Newbery Medal 10 years ago for The Tale of Despereaux, and a Newbery Honor in 2001 for her first novel, Because of Winn-Dixie. DiCamillo was sworn in as the fourth National Ambassador for Young People's Literature earlier this month.


After three Sibert Honors over the years for his picture books, Brian Floca wins the 2014 Caldecott Medal for Locomotive which presents a visual exploration of America's early railroads, examining the sounds, speed, and strength of the fledgling transcontinental locomotives and the experiences of pioneering travelers. Locomotive also received a 2014 Sibert Honor citation.


British author Marcus Sedgwick wins the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award for Midwinterblood; seven linked vignettes of passion and love unfold on a Scandinavian island inhabited throughout various time periods by Vikings, vampires, ghosts and a curiously powerful plant that resembles a dragon.

For a complete list of award winners and honorees, click here.

Jacki @ Central




Powered by Movable Type 5.2

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jacki published on January 28, 2014 9:27 AM.

S by Doug Dorst and JJ Abrams was the previous entry in this blog.

2013 Favorites is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.