Declaration of Independence Signed

| No TrackBacks

faulkner_declaration.jpgOn August 2, 1776 the Declaration of Independence was engrossed on parchment and signed by fifty-six state delegates. Delegates signed the document by state location, from northernmost New Hampshire to southernmost Georgia. Five delegates signed on a later date and some, due to a lack of space, were never able to sign the document. Add your name to signers of the Declaration of Independence by signing a (virtual) copy at the National Archives website!

Check out these resources for more information on the Declaration of Independence:

  • The official, signed Declaration of Independence can be viewed at, along with more information on how the Declaration of Independence was written and adopted.

  • The Declaration mural by Barry Faulkner (pictured above) is located in the Rotunda for the Charters of Freedom in the National Archives building in Washington D.C. See who is pictured in the mural and learn about the restoration process here.

Bookmark and Share

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:


Powered by Movable Type 5.2


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Kristina published on August 2, 2011 1:24 PM.

Teens, Create Your Own Ice Cream Flavor at the Library! was the previous entry in this blog.

Food on a stick! Deep fried butter! Pig races! is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.